No April Fools

www.enliten.me

I had seen Donald Glover (aka Childish Gambino) popping up on more and more hip-hop blogs recently but hadn’t given him a chance as a rapper… until recently. My main problem was the assumption it wasn’t a serious endeavor for the comedian. I mean, my first introduction to Donald was through his YouTube sketch comedy group, Derrick Comedy, and their popular video Bro Rape: A Newsline Investigative Report years ago. More recently, I watched Derrick Comedy’s (very disappointing) feature film, Mystery Team. But after hearing Childish Gambino’s recent EP, I’m sold that it’s not a joke. Check out a video and get the full 5-track EP below:

Childish Gambino – Freaks & Geeks mp3

Childish Gambino – EP

I think Gambino’s only difficulty making it even bigger in the rap game will be overcoming the same preconceptions I had about his motives as a rapper. Celebrity doesn’t always equal talent. But then again:

Unrelated, this is like my 12th Enliten blog post in a row. Don’t I get attack dogs or something? #CODswag

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

